You are Here: Know Our India : States of India : Karnataka

Karnataka Land of Cultural Diversity

Karnataka is a serene state. Karnataka shares its boundary with Maharashtra to north, Andrapradesh to East, Tamil Nadu to South East, Kerala to south and Arabian Sea towards west.

Karnataka has varied climatic condition in different parts. Coastal areas are warm and humid. Northern part of Karnataka records high temperature with dry climate. Hilly areas situated on Western Ghats, which boasts of rich sayadri mountains is cool.

Karnataka has Bengaluru as its state capital. Bengaluru is also popularly known as “silicon valley of India” and “IT capital of India”. This city also called as” garden city of India” has Cubbon park, Lalbagh and Bangerghatta national park (this is a zoo, one can also go for safari ), Bull temple, Ulsoor lake, Forts and Palace of Tipu Sultan ,Venktappa art Gallery, Vishveswarya industrial and technological museum, Jawaharlal  planetarium, Vidan Soudha are other attractions of this place.

 There are other prominent cities in Karnataka are Mysore, Hassan, Shravanbalegola, Mangalore, Karwar, Ankola, Hubli, Dharwad, Shimoga, Bellary, Raichur, Gulbarga.

Mysore is a city of rich cultural heritage; it has many historical monuments of Wodeyar dynasty, and Tippu sultan. Famous Chamundi Temple, situated on Chamundi hills is main tourist attraction in addition to World famous Brindavan Garden and KRS dam. There is also famous Nanjundeshwara temple at Nanjangud near to Mysore.

Mangalore and Karwar are harbor cities, there are many famous beaches .Malpe beach at Mangalore, Om beach at Gokarna are well-known for its beauty.

They have left many magnificent monuments as testimony of their glorious life in various parts of Karnataka.

There are many Famous temples like Halebid temple, Shantleshwara temple, and Hoyshaleshwara temple. Belur has famous Channakeshwar temple. World   famous Hampi, “city of ruins” is located in city of Hospet, near Bellary. Hampi has many monuments  Virupaksha Temple, Hampi Bazar, Matanga Shrines, Monolithic Bull, AchyutaRaaya’s Temple, Courtesan’s street, Varaha Temple, Chakratirtha , Rangatha Temple, Kodandarama Temple, Yantrodhara Anjaneya Temple, Sugreeva’ cave, Saraswathi Temple, Chandikesvara Temple, Uddana Veerabhadra Temple, Krishna temple, Badavilinga Temple, Lakshmi Narshima Temple, Hemakuta Temples,  Sasivekallu Ganesha, Kadalekallu Ganesha, Vishnupada Shrine,Veerabhadra Temple, Hemkuta hills, Matunga hills.

Kodagu Known as Kashmir of South is situated on pristine Sahyadri Mountains. Kodagu has many tourist attractions in it.  They are Raja Seat, Madikeri, Fort palace, Omkareshwara Temple, Gadduge, Abbi Falls, NisargaDhama, Dubare, Talacauvery, Bhagamandala, Nalknad Palace.

Bandipura and Nagarhole are two wildlife sanctuaries. Famous Jog falls formed by river Shravati is located in Shimoga district.

Get More Informations about
Cities in Karnataka | Hotels in Karnataka | Tourist Places in Karnataka | Temples in Karnataka | Colleges in Karnataka | Airports in Karnataka | Shopping Places in Karnataka

Home | About Us | Travel Destinations in India | Travel Tips | Useful Links | Contact Us | Sitemap
2009 Know Our India,, all rights reserved. Design & Developed by SEM Infotech